Tour Guide Update

Happy Diwali!

Diwali is the Indian holiday meaning festival of lights. I have never been in India for Diwali but I have been to a Diwali celebration in Dallas. I plan to go again this year. Its a fun holiday for people as they get new cloths and jewelry. People give presents to friends and family and puja’s are performed for Laxmi, the goddess of wealth. I wonder if any Bangladeshi’s celebrate Diwali?

The tour guide did e-mail me back 🙂 My one concern was that he would not want to ride on the bus with us to Sonargoan (the regions original capital). However, he said it was fine. Now I just have to make more concrete plans with him like the specific days and such. I told him we wanted to do one day of Puran (old) Dhaka and one day in Sonargoan. Now to decide the order of importance of things in Puran Dhaka. I want to go to Bicycle Street, ride a boat across the river, eat at Hajir Biryani, go to Dhakeshwari Temple (National Hindu Temple) and Lalbagh Fort. The fort was built by Aurangzeb’s son. Aurangzeb was the son of Shah Jahan, builder of the Taj Mahal.

I have not made it to the Taj Mahal yet. However, I have seen the Red Fort in Delhi (who’s construction was started by Shah Jahan). I have also been to Daulatabad Fort just outside Aurangabad in Maharashtra. Daulatabad was built by Aurangzeb. I guess I am on a mission to see as much Mughal architecture as possible.

Leave a Reply

